Skip to content

“Birth”

junio 4, 2009

Os presento esta serie de Brenda Clews que me ha encandilado. Se llama “Birth” (nacimiento), así la describe ella.

THE BODY IS FOR BLOSSOMING

When I was pregnant, my body changed in fundamental and drastic ways. It was a crisis: the freedom of an old self was dying to make way for the mother I would become.

The “Birth Series” paintings became a visual journey of my changing body, a way to comprehend what I was undergoing in the tumble of hormones as my belly grew. The paintings focus on the woman who conceives and carries a baby into life, who nourishes and awaits the child who will hopefully emerge from the nine-month gestation of her body like a dream become real.

In reaction to an increasing invisibility in the world: the averted gaze, perhaps arising out of a cultural discomfort with the swollen belly, I wished to present the pregnant body as sensual and sacred. Despite my desire to confound the categories of alluring woman and maternal body, I found myself deep in the mystery of creation itself.

At the beginning of the series, the body is portrayed clearly; as the forces of labour, birth and then breastfeeding unfold, the clarity shifts into flowing colours suggesting the transformative experience that carrying and delivering and breastfeeding a baby is.

These paintings are about a rite of passage, about the strangest body on earth, about the mind-blowing transformation of skin, belly, heart and perception of the self, as a woman ripens and delivers her fragile and beautiful fruit, the newborn, a miracle of the world.

4 comentarios leave one →
  1. flordejara permalink*
    junio 4, 2009 9:15 pm

    Entendéis la cabecera del blog ahora? Por cortesía de Brenda Clews.

  2. junio 6, 2009 3:31 am

    Very sweet, mucho agradecimiento…

    • flordejara permalink*
      junio 6, 2009 7:57 am

      The more I watch your paintings, the more I like them. Thanks for letting me enjoy them in my blog.

  3. junio 7, 2010 5:31 am

    For some reason, this comment thread appeared at a WordPress blog I have… suddenly, just now. 🙂 I hope you are doing well, and baba is growing beautifully, and surely keeping you busy!

    Recently I uploaded a videopoem with these images and a birth poem, wasn’t sure if the birth poem or a talk about the process of the paintings. Anyway, sharing… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9yJYwX4hgdc

Responder

